Griffin Free Public Library – Auburn, NH

Where Auburn Comes Together!

Author Brendan Greenwood on the Intersection of History and Fiction

Griffin Free Public Library is pleased to announce author Brendan Greenwood will join our Summer Author Series on Thursday, July 22 at 6:30 PM via Zoom.

In Gaul, 37 AD, seasoned imperial officer Marcus Sempronius Gracchus leads the 9th Roman Legion into a bloody battle against a fierce barbarian rival. It’s a battle he won’t survive. When he awakens three days later, clawing his way from a hastily dug grave, Marcus realizes he cannot be killed—but that won’t stop him from dying time and again over the next 2,000 years. Burdened with immortality after a chance encounter with Jesus Christ, is Marcus cursed to walk this world without end? The Last Roman is an incredible debut novel that lies somewhere between fantasy, historical drama and a techno-thriller in the vein of Highlander and Jason Bourne.

In his talk, Texas writer Greenwood, will talk about his writing journey, which officially started in my late twenties, but the roots can be traced back to middle school. In this program, he’ll discuss how he fell in love with history and how it shaped his life and writing. He’ll also discuss how he pick a certain period to write about, how he researched and the style used to share his knowledge of history. Finally, be prepared to consider that age old question: What can we learn from history?

A question and answer period will follow Brendan’s presentation and he’ll have his books available to sell.  6:30-8. Free and open to the public. Register HERE and the Zoom link will be emailed to you one day prior to the event..

B.K. Greenwood lives in Austin, Texas, with his wife and wolf pack of four rescue dogs. He loves to travel and has incorporated his experiences into his writing. B.K. enjoys works of fiction and nonfiction, with a heavy emphasis on history, adventure, and classics. His passion for history is on display in his debut novel, The Last Roman: Exile.

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2021 by in Books, Programs.

Contact:

Griffin Free Public Library
22 Hooksett Road / PO Box 308
Auburn, NH 03032
603.483.5374
staff@griffinfree.org

 

Wowbrary

Follow Blog via Email

Sign up to receive new post notifications by email!

Join 397 other subscribers

%d bloggers like this: